Kenya Signs Nile Basin Accord

Kenya has signed the Nile Basin Cooperative Framework Agreement, the fifth out of nine member countries to do so.

The new accord, which replaces one signed in 1929, will allow Kenya, Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania and Ethiopia to use the Nile waters equally.

The 1929 agreement, signed by Egypt, Sudan and colonial power Britain, gave Egypt 55.5 billion cubic metres of Nile water and 18.5 billion cubic metres to Sudan.

Burundi and DRC are expected to sign the accord, bringing the number of signatories to seven.

The accord will remain open for signatures until 13 May 2011.